ETAM Help

Hi all,

I just got notified that I did not receive any offers for my majors that I chose on ETAM. The majors I chose were CVEN, AREN, EVEN, and ELEN. I was wondering if anyone could give some advice on what I should do now because I really am interested in doing something related to civil engineering but it doesn’t seem possible for me here.

I know that I will still be able to accept offers from other majors, but I feel like the only majors I will be getting an offer from will be MMET, Industrial, and like Nuclear or something. I don’t think any of these majors relate to civil engineering at all.

I am an incoming Blinn student in the engineering academy and I’ve finished all of my UCC courses so it’s not like I can wait another semester to apply.

So I guess what I’m asking is, does anyone think it would be possible to accept an offer from a major and then transfer into civil engineering later? Or would I be better off just trying to get into another college. My GPA is a 3.0 so I understand why they didn’t accept me, but I emailed my advisors and they did not help me on giving any advice.

I have no idea on this, but have you thought of construction science? And does civil offer a minor? What are your after college plans?

I had an internship at a transportation engineering firm this past summer and I absolutely loved it. I was hoping to continue working as a transportation engineer in the future but I don’t know how I will be able to do it now.

I really don’t want a degree outside of engineering because I feel like construction science majors will always get beat by the engineering majors.

I don’t think you choose your actual major in Engineering until after your first year. So any engineering student would be a Gen Engineering the first year. Keep your head down and your grades up and I bet your options will open up by the time you need to choose.