Experience with Merit Scholarships for Transfer Students

A friend of our family is considering transferring to UA from another state school as a sophomore in the Fall. The student’s GPA is 3.6-3.7 for the first semester of college. His ACT score was 1410 as a senior in HS with a 4.2 GPA. He has some college activities as a freshman. I have been trying to help this family determine if there is merit aid available to them. The UA website instructs filling out a scholarship form. Does anyone from OOS have experience in obtaining merit aid as a transfer?

I have no personal experience, but the UA Scholarship website indicates available awards:

http://scholarships.ua.edu/transfer/

I would also maybe contact the department for the major he is interested in to see if they have scholarships.

Also…have your friend check with her/his area’s Alumni Association to see if they have any awards.

Has the student applied to UA? Has s/he filled out the transfer scholarship app?

Unfortunately, the most and best awards are for incoming freshmen.

Is that her/his M+CR SAT score? If so, then it’s too bad that s/he didn’t apply as an incoming frosh. S/He’d have gotten free tuition.

What are his/her parents saying about how much they’ll pay each year?

Edit…I see that your DD is a frosh with the Presidential. Is this friend hoping to get something like that?

Does the friend have any talents, like music or debate club? If so, maybe they could audition…altho I think for Music performance, the student would have to major in that.

The Debate Forensics team has good sized awards.