Exploring possible majors as HS junior

<p>We’re looking at several areas of interest with D2 and a new possible major she’d like to explore is Communicative Disorders/Speech Therapy. Do any of you or your students have experience with this? Anyone majoring in Communicative Disorders at Bama now or graduated from the program and gone on to pursue Speech Therapy? Daughter is exploring some potential majors and career paths and this came up. Any helpful information to share?</p>

<p>I have a Master’s in Speech Language Pathology from UVA. Great degree, wide open as far as employment options, and a highly enjoyable and rewarding profession. I had the option of working part-time and still making great money when my children were younger, and that isn’t true for many professions these days! I ended up going back and getting a teaching degree, and now teach first grade. But I worked as an SLP for 18 years before doing so. I don’t know anything about the program at Alabama, but I’m sure somebody here will. Make sure any graduate program you apply to is accredited by AHSA because it makes licensure requirements much easier.</p>

<p>Thanks, Whitlo. Speech Therapy is one of a few ideas she’s been exploring as she begins this process. I appreciate your input. :slight_smile: I hope your area dodges the snow!</p>