External transfer fall 2023

Hello, I am currently a freshman at my local community college. I am aware that in order to be considered a transfer I need a minimum of 24 hours, however I will be applying with 19, and two required courses in progress. I heard that there was an option of getting asked for spring grades. I will be applying with a 3.26GPA for Economics. What are my chances of getting asked for spring grades rather than straight up rejected?

@ChristiR93 can answer your questions

There is a chance but lately I’ve seen half and half on this. Just don’t be surprised if get straight rejection. 19 hours and average gpa for Econ isn’t a strong portfolio even if all required courses were complete. Make sure you really put in the time and effort in spring grades.

As for application, you’ll need a strong essay as to why Tamu, why applying early without the requirements being met and why Econ. Might be best if you go and speak with Econ advisor and get their perspective as well as use that as a “hey I’m really interested” marker!

Please keep us posted.

3 Likes

Is there any chance you could help me? What should I say to the econ advisors, and how would I contact them. I am confident that I will do really good next semester, so I believe that if I get asked for spring grades I have good chances of getting in. My GPA was supposed to be 3.5 last semester but unfortunately two of my professors didn’t round me up from an 89.5 to a 90. Should I mention this on the statement of purpose, or would it sound bad?

Hey there… those 89.5 grades are so hard. What I told my own kiddos is that there will be plenty of 90.000s that’ll make up for them.