failed a class...:(

<p>I am a freshman going into my spring semester. I received an F in my math 171 class and my advisor is through the College of Engineering. I really am in panic mode because I have never failed a class ever not even in high school (which is the same for most students) and I am wondering what my options are. </p>

<p>There are a couple big problems for me, first and foremost I am wondering what effect this might have on my chances in med school? I will remind you all that I am a freshman and this was my first semester, so I do have quite a few credits left and I know that I am capable of getting all A's next semester with my courses.</p>

<p>Another problem is what I should do as far as applying to my engineering major. What math course should I take this spring semester??</p>

<p>Thank you</p>

<p>Med schools usually require Calc 1 that can be 221 or some other options.</p>

<p>Engineering- I dont know. What kind of engineering are you looking at? An F in any math class for an engineering major is not good.</p>

<p>If you retake it they take the first grade out of your GPA. I think this can be overcome in 4 years.</p>

<p>Are you sure barrons? Most colleges these days keep both the prior grade and the retaken class grade in the cumulative GPA.</p>

<p>Here’s the policy for L&S, under ‘Failures’
<a href=“Guide < University of Wisconsin-Madison”>Guide < University of Wisconsin-Madison;

<p>I would imagine this is standard throughout the entire university.</p>

<p>It doesn’t matter what the university does. Medical schools calculate their own GPAs (through a central service) and they count the original F plus the grade when the class is retaken.</p>

<p>thanks for the replies! :slight_smile:
I emailed my adviser and she said that the math 171 grade is not calculated into my STEM GPA when I apply to engineering. I would like to major in biomedical engineering. </p>