Feeling like I haven't shown enough interest in the major

Heya all. I recently realized that I want to be a nurse, or rather a Nurse Practitioner. But that’s the problem, I’ve only figured that out recently because I didn’t even know that NPs were a thing. I’ve applied to a couple direct entry nursing programs and plan on doing pre-health everywhere else to do direct entry graduate programs, but I don’t think I’ve shown the same amount of demonstrated interest in the career of Nursing as other people since I only figured out how great of a fit of a career it was for me a year or two ago. Should I even worry or does this happen more often than I think? I’m happy to share more information if needed. Thanks!

It is desirable to show that you are serious about it. If you can’t do volunteer or paid work in a health care setting, check to see if there is any type of health care career explorer program in your area.

I am a nurse. It is easy to get intimidated in nursing school by other students who seem to have had the calling since childhood. I was not that person. Nursing was a career change for me that came later in life and was not something I ever dreamed of becoming. That being said, there are certainly character traits that are evident in excellent nurses including kindness, compassion, empathy and the desire to help others even when it is difficult. If you don’t see any of those qualities in your personality then perhaps you need to rethink the major. If you do, then go for it and don’t worry how committed or passionate your schoolmates seem in comparison to you.There are so many nursing opportunities out there and also a great degree to have if you choose to change your career later as I did.