Finances

<p>Someone please correct me if I am wrong but this meal plan is a killer. As a freshman I have to pay, for my daughter, a minimum of $2,700.00 a yr for her to eat 10 meals a week or approx $325.00-350.00 a month. My wife spends on average $1f… My wife usually spends $650.00-$750.00 a month for everything that can be bought at wally world for a family of 5. I don’t see the amount we spend going down much either due to her not being at home. While on this topic, again correct me if I am wrong but daughter is staying at Lakeside and total bill for this dorm is $32,000. a yr or $3,500-$4,000.00 a month for quarters that would be $1,000.00-$1,500.00 at most on the ouside</p>

<p>I think you have the cost of the dorm incorrect. A four bedroom unit at Lakeside is $4,050.00 a semester, or $8100 a year (nine months) which would be $900/month utilities included.</p>

<p>Am I incorrect about the dorm? I assumed this $4050.00 was for each person. If this is for all rooms then it is not bad at all and my wallet is smiling if I am incorrect.</p>

<p>You were correct if you were talking about the total cost of the unit, it would be $4050 X 4 people. I thought you were talking about your daughters bill.</p>

<p>woolif,</p>

<p>Yes, Freshman yr a food plan and on campus housing are required.
BamaMomof3 has the correct cost for Lakeside.
($4050.00 per person and per semester)
There are cheaper dorms available.
Freshman minimum dining plan is “Bama Silver” - $1,350 per semester
(160 meals @ $ 8.44 per meal) Common for students to snack and then eat one large meal a day. I saw kids spend the entire afternoon studying and grazing the salad bars.</p>

<p>Freshman Dining/housing - It’s required, its expensive, its the same at most Universities, It’s also only required Freshman yr. After that a cheap apartment and home cooked meals ala’ Wallyworld are the budget option.</p>

<p>For comparison:
Ohio State University charges $3705/yr for 300 meals = $12.35 per meal