Financial Aid - Aggie Assurance

I’m an incoming freshman for this fall and have applied and received financial aid from the school already, but am a little confused on what I’ve been rewarded. Coming from a low-income family ( ~ $32,000 ), I meet all the requirements for the Aggie Assurance program( http://financialaid.tamu.edu/Aggie-Assurance ), but did not receive nearly as much in grants as I expected. I was offered ~$20k in loans, but only the Pell Grant for grants. I currently have a brother who is going to be a Junior at TAMU this fall and he has always received ~ $20k in grants, not loans. We are identical in academics, so I doubt that has to do with it. The only thing I can think of that can be the root of this problem is that when financial offers were handed out, I was still missing two forms that were “incomplete” in my financial aid portal. These forms were the Statement-of-Non-Filing and the Dependent Verification form. Since then, all forms have been turned in but my offers remain the same. My FAFSA was linked successfully a long time ago and nothing has changed with our financial situation. What can I do?

I know what you mean; when I tried to find my Statement of non-filing, A&M told me I had to complete it as soon as possible so I could get financial aid. But they said they ran out of financial grants that I qualified for before they could receive my verification. If its any consolation, I was told that after my freshman year I this problem wouldn’t happen again because they will have a copy on file when I apply for financial aid again. So if you can find the money for this year, you should be fine later on.