First Generation? Second Generation?

Hello everyone,

Hope this finds you well!

I need help deciding whether I am a first generation student. I continue to work on college applications and I am a little confused because of my situation

My mother and my father were both immigrants in the United States for a while. Now they are both citizens.

Although I haven’t seen my father in years, I know he recently attended community college.

Here is the weird scenario though :

My mother received a 5 year degree (for business I think) in Peru, in South America, to a university that is apparently very poor. (the school won’t even show up in the common app portal when you input your parent’s educational information, the community college does though)

When she came to the U.S, this degree did nothing for her and she was in the streets until she met my father.

She had to attend community college to help her in the long run. Now she works at T-J maxx.

Anything would help!

You don’t decide if you are first generation or not…the college.admission departments will. Different colleges have different criteria for first generation status. You just need to honestly input the information (colleges attended including international schools).

Of course. Thank you.

If your parents were immigrants and you were born in the US that makes you first generation. Your parents education has nothing to do with it.

@arodmciau - believe this isn’t about being a first generation immigrant but about being first generation for college. The question is if your parents attended college.