Fordham gabelli vs UT Austin McCombs

Hello All,

Happy Friday!
I am new to college confidential, pardon me if there are mistakes.
My daughter is Asian female from California and got accepted into Fordham Gabelli for Fall of 2022 with a good scholarship (~50 k per year) and UT Austin McCombs with no merit aid.
Fordham
Pros
COA - ~30k
Location - New York, closer to wall street
Job opportunities - good with decent starting salaries
Competition/Course Rigor - Easy to shine with hard work
Cons
Location - Too far away from CA
Diversity - Not very diverse so my daughter may be odd person out
Safety - No idea
Reputation - Good school but not T10 as McCombs

UT Austin McCombs
Pros
Reputation - T10 school for business
Location - Austin, closer to CA
Diversity - very diverse
job opportunities - very good with high starting salaries
Cons
Cost of Attendance - ~70k, exploring in state tuition from 2nd year onwards
Competition/Course Rigor - Very competitive
Am I missing any?
I know no one whose kid goes to Fordham from Bay Area but plenty of kids go to UT Austin. so there is that familiar vs unfamiliar territory
My daughter is at 49/51 for Fordham vs McCombs but diversity is a big factor in decision making.

Thank you for all your help in advance.
Note: If this thread is in wrong place and needs to be moved to someplace please let me know.

If NYC is the goal then Fordham. Easy. Just realize a NYC salary is higher bcuz it’s NYC and if I banking is the goal, you work work work and it’s not for everyone.

Texas or Ny…both are far from CA so it’s an equal con. A 3 hour or 5 hr plane ride is the same thing.

Are you moving to Tx? Not sure in state is possible unless you buy a place and establish domicile for 12 months. Colleges block this…well states do. You are higher revenue to them - they’re not looking to do you favors unless you invest your life there.

Good luck.

1 Like

Fordham has much better Cannolis.