Fraternity Stuff / Honors Housing

<p>Hey everyone! This is my first thread so I’m new to all this but I have a couple of questions. I’m coming down to UA this fall from KY and am really excited, Roll Tide!</p>

<p>Firstly, I am currently in Lakeside West in a 4-bedroom suit. We’re trying to get it moved (one of my roommates and I so we can squeeze someone else in), but not sure if that’s gonna be able to happen. So are any of you or your sons in Lakeside West?</p>

<p>Secondly, I plan on rushing this fall. I really like Delta Chi the most, and Phi Delta Theta is probably a far second, but I haven’t done much researching outside of Delta Chi. Any tips, suggestions?</p>

<p>Lastly, dealing with the fraternity stuff, I’ve heard several reports of hazing and such. Does anyone know of the kind of stuff that pledges have to go through at UA?</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>First, fill out the form and pay the $20 fee at [Greek</a> Life](<a href=“http://www.greeklife.ua.edu/ifcrecruitment.html]Greek”>http://www.greeklife.ua.edu/ifcrecruitment.html) . I’d also suggest contacting the various rush chairs to introduce yourself and see if they are hosting any events during your Bama Bound session.</p>

<p>Fraternity rituals are mostly secretive activities. The most well-known activity is the wearing of a certain color of polo shirt and jeans on some days and in navy sportcoats on others. As for hazing, remember that most tasks/rituals/traditions are perfectly safe, just maybe a little embarrassing at times. You ALWAYS have the right to say no to any task/ritual/tradition and are strongly encouraged, if not required, to report any incidents of hazing.</p>

<p>Do you have a connection to Delta Chi? What is it about them that you like?</p>

<p>I recommend you go through formal rush and see all the houses and see who you like and who likes you.</p>