Freshman engineering retention rate?

<p>Does anyone have an idea of why Purdue loses almost 50% of their freshman engineering students? I know that freshman year is difficult for engineering students at most colleges, but losing 50% would seem to indicate one or more of the following:
1. Purdue is accepting students in their engineering program that don't belong there (low HS GPA, SAT/ACT scores or poor work habits).
2. There is very little support for struggling students (tutoring, test prep, study groups ect)
3. Work load is so heavy that only half can survive
4. Quality of the instruction/professors is very poor.</p>

<p>I am NOT an engineering student at any college (yet), so please understand that I'm not trying to bad mouth Purdue. I'm just trying to figure out how such a supposedly good engineering program can lose so many students. Any ideas? What are other colleges doing that helps them retain more (certainly not all) of their freshman engineering students? Does anyone know of any programs that retain most of their freshman engineering students?</p>

<p>Personally, I think the main reason is:

1. People underestimate the dedication you have to put to your studies while having fun so pretty much bad time management skills. </p>

<p>Most students that drop out of FYE go to College of Technology or Krannert from what I’ve seen.</p>

<p>^^^
Wouldn’t that be the same at all/most engineering programs? Or are you suggesting Purdue is just so much fun that their engineering students require better time management skills?</p>

<p>Hmm… good call. That is odd thinking about it… There are other schools that can lead to a better time socially such as Wisconsin…</p>

<ol>
<li>People underestimate the dedication you have to put to your studies while having fun so pretty much bad time management skills. </li>
</ol>