Freshman year: Dorms or Off Campus?

Hey everyone, I’m thinking of applying to the U of A as a safety school since I live 10 minutes away. However, I had the opportunity to stay in Yuma Hall for the Summer Engineering Camp and I really didn’t like the dorms and their setup. I was just wondering if many freshman DO live off campus, or even Tucson residents who live at home and commute. Would you recommend sucking it up and staying in the dorms freshman year, or is living off campus a viable option? I’ve seen pictures of The Hub at Tucson and it looks fantastic, but I’m not sure if they let freshmen live there, or if freshmen even live there regardless. Any input would be much appreciated!

bumppp

If you can afford it, The Hub, Next, etc. are all pretty nice, but I think they’re a little too far. Colonia De Le Paz and Likins are pretty nice and are situated in the middle of campus.

I’m a freshman living in a dorm, but it’s a bad one since I applied for dorms later than normal and all of my preferences were filled up.

Which dorm do you live in? I’m not big on parties, so if I have to live on a dorm I’d rather live in one that’s more tame.

Also, are there any age requirements for apartments like the hub, next, etc.? When I graduate HS I will be a year younger than everyone else, since I skipped a grade.

Furthermore, is there a sizeable population of students who live at home and commute?

Thank you!

I live in Babcock but am trying to switch for next semester. Don’t apply there. I don’t think any dorm on campus is tame, but it’s not hard to find quiet time. I have no idea about the age requirements and I do think a good portion of students commute. If you have the ability to, then definitely commute.