Freshman Year Engineering Courses

Hello Everyone! I’m an incoming freshman to Texas A&M’s honors engineering program. I was wondering what courses you all would recommend for me to take my freshman year.

I’ve taken these AP courses:
AP Physics C: E&M + Mech
Calc BC
Physics 1
Comp Sci A
Govt, English, Human Geo, etc…

I’ve heard that taking Calc 1 and then skipping over on to Calc 3 freshman year is a good idea.

What do all the class numbers(i.e.MATH 131 MATH 151) correspond to?

Also I’ve been told that honors students get smaller classes and get preference for classes. Could someone explain how that process work as well?

What scores did you get on the ap calc exams? My son got 5’s on them and skipped both 151 and 152 and started in calc 3.it was a lot of work but he got an A in the class and was very glad that he took the credit for both of those classes. He also took credit for physic 218 (mechanics) but from what I hear, now that they have changed the physics classes that might not be an option for you.
He in in engineering honors as well. He took honors for engr 111, 112. The class size for these were much smaller than the non honors versions would have been. You also have a better chance of getting a good group for your group projects. The other advantage of being in honors is that after this summer’s registration you get to register early. This is very helpful although it still can be a challenge to get the sections you want as some departments, particularly chemistry, don’t release many seats at a time.