freshmen housing?

<p>so far as a I know, all freshmen are required to live in a dorm
none of my family members lived or live in dorms before in college
(since they were or are international students but.. well.. I'm not..)
so I really have no idea what it would be like
so here I just few questions..</p>

<ol>
<li><p>I'm an engineer major....
so I guess it's going to be either Galileo or RLC
someone said Galileo has more extra "tedious(?)" courses
whereas RLC has better dorms with fewer courses...
first of all, I'm just a type of guy trying to blend in than stand out
(at least that's what I feel now...)
so would it be a better choice to apply for Galileo experience-wise?</p></li>
<li><p>I checked the list on the VT website about what to bring to the dorms..
DAMM!! the list is huge .. do I really have to buy all that sh$$??</p></li>
</ol>

<p>Any advices from experience??...
Thanks in advance..</p>

<ol>
<li><p>Go with RLC.</p></li>
<li><p>Looking at the list online (I don’t know what list you’re looking at), there are a lot of items that you don’t need. A couple of things on that list that you don’t need:</p></li>
<li><p>Can Opener</p></li>
<li><p>Hot Pot</p></li>
<li><p>Glass Cleaner</p></li>
<li><p>Hand Soap (get liquid soap for when you shower)</p></li>
<li><p>Screwdrivers</p></li>
<li><p>Wrench</p></li>
<li><p>Sewing Kit</p></li>
<li><p>Alarm Clock (use your phone)</p></li>
</ol>

<p>The rest of the list are pretty basic things. Note that a lot of things you don’t need to bring with you. You can still buy paper towels in Blacksburg.</p>

<p>I was the one who answered your question on Galileo. I hear it sucks. RLC is the way to go if you want to avoid traditional dorms. Not to mention you will get leadership experience in the RLC, which would be something good to add to applications.</p>