Full IB: to take or to not take?

<p>I'm currently in my first semester of 10th grade, and next semester I will have to pick my classes for junior year.
My parents want me to take full IB, and I think I want to.. but I'm not sure. I've heard that it is a LOT of work and you don't get much sleep. I am aiming for colleges like UC Berkeley, or maybe even Stanford! I'm not sure how highly they view the IB and if I should really take it. If this helps, here are my grades as of right now:
English: 95
Chemistry: 95
Math: 91
French: 90
World History: 91
My main interest is science, but I'm not sure what I want to do yet.</p>

<p>So, do you think I should take full IB or not? Thanks in advance! :)</p>

<p>As a full IB diploma student, I would advise you to take the full diploma. (No, I’m not biased at all, why would you say that.) :slight_smile: Diploma has given me a support system of students and teachers to lean on. At certain points in the year, we are all totally miserable, but we are all miserable together, and that is why I wouldn’t change my choice to challenge the diploma for the world.
I also love that every subject is connected to another on some level. Making bridges between areas of knowledge has always been fascinating to me. And, yes, IB is a lot of work, but it’s not just because of the difficult academics - anyone who is taking AP classes/a mixture of AP and IB will attest to difficult classes. Rather, the diploma is so strenuous because of all the outside work you have to do, such as the Extended Essay and CAS. However, I think pushing through every aspect of the Diploma has made a more well-rounded student, a more critical thinker, a person who is more prepared for college, and just a better world citizen. For that reason especially, I advise you to challenge the full diploma. Good luck!!</p>