Georgetown vs UVA vs Virginia Tech vs Dartmouth for CS

hi! i’m an incoming freshman in cs from the northern virginia area. does anyone have opinions on the computer science program and its quality in terms of preparing for a career and picking up skills? i would pair it with a minor in science, technology, and international affairs. for context, my other top choices are uva and virginia tech. i am on the waitlist at dartmouth, but will need to commit by may 1. would love to hear thoughts on the program in comparison as well. cost is not a concern since the aid packages are comparable. thank you in advance :slight_smile:

uva may be a better choice than Georgetown

If you want CS, I don’t see why Georgetown. UVA or Virginia Tech would be better.

4 Likes

i would love to stay in the DC area and those i’ve spoken to had said georgetown helps get you in the door for government jobs. i got into uva early so i had been planning to go there, but now i’m back to indecision.

All three send students to DC after graduation, UVA and Va Tech have stronger computer science departments than Georgetown. Do you live in VA?

1 Like

yes!

So hopefully every college will do this for you.

Dartmouth is a WL - so do the LOCI but forget it.

So UVA and Va Tech are different type of schools, different experiences and both will do great.

As far as getting CS jobs anywhere - including the government in DC - that can and will happen from any school in the US. Today you have linkedin and indeed - but the government itself has open postings and will not just be hiring from local schools.

I wouldn’t consider Gtown for CS when you have such solid in-state choices.

Best of luck.

The most recent Common Data Set for Dartmouth shows they admitted 0 students from the waitlist in 2021.

It’s fine to stay on the waitlist, but don’t use any mental energy adding it to your decision process.

3 Likes

Making matters worse, they admitted 1750 students of which 1228 enrolled.