GRE 101 - An average guy's journey to 333 (170 - Quant, 163 - Verbal)

Hello all,

Before i start with my prep schedule, i’ll like to emphasize on the point that GRE is just a cut off criteria. It doesn’t necessarily guarantee you a admittance if you have a good score, though it does reduce your chances if you screw it up.

A small introduction. I’m in my final year of undergraduate studies in BITS Pilani, India. I’m decent at mathematics and below average at vocabulary. I was really scared of the verbal section. In the end, i’m still scared. But all’s well that end’s well.

I’l start by clearing some GRE myths.

1. There’s no need to memorize thousands of words. It’s not all about the vocabulary, but more about your logical reasoning.
  2. It’s not complex mathematics. I’m coming from a good mathematics background so i might have a biased opinion but it’s nothing you can’t learn in a period of two-three weeks.
  3. For people like me, it’s not about knowing everything in mathematics, but not losing concentration during the examination and committing silly mistakes. This is what the test takers really look for. Avoid them as much as possible, because you need to score perfect where you can.

I’ve never been a stickler to an everyday schedule telling you what to do, how much to do. The magoosh schedule gives you a good view of how to structure your preparation Hence, i’ll use checkpoints to mark your progress.

Essentials:

1. Official GRE Guide
  2. Barron’s 800 word list
  3. Princeton review
  4. Magoosh GRE Flashcards

Optional:

1. NOVA Quant (if you’re bad at math)
  2. Manhattan Volume 7 and 8 (if you’re bad at verbal)
  3. Word Power Made Easy
  4. Princeton Review (extra reading material)

Stationary:

1. Notepad
  2. Diary
  3. Homemade flashcards (basically chits of paper)

Schedule: