have i been rejected ???

<p>hi all,</p>

<p>i applied to purdue for fall '10.
checked the online application website this morning and it says Denied/Offer Waitlist under decision
what does this mean ?? have i been rejected ??
i've only applied to a few schools so i'm panicking right now :(
i'm an international student btw, applied for com engineering</p>

<p>thanks for reading</p>

<p>You were offered to be on waitlist. Pretty much means that you were rejected but still have a chance to attend the university.</p>

<p>would it help if i changed my major to economics ?? my friend said economics is much easier to get into than engineering.</p>

<p>rejected but still have a chance to attend ? how does that work actually ??</p>

<p>I’m not sure if changing your major to economics would help. Krannert’s been getting harder to get into lately also. Why not try for Undergraduate Studies Program instead and then switch into Engineering after you finish all the classes required? </p>

<p>Waitlist means you were put onto a list of students who had the grades to attend but the # of acceptances were reached. So if you really want to attend Purdue you agree to be on waitlist and when people decide not to attend Purdue then spots will open up for you. I’m not sure how Purdue does it but for Rutgers, you will never know if you got your waitlist accepted until June/May.</p>

<p>wow ok, thank you so much for that. for a moment i thought my grades were unacceptable or something. normally what is the percentage of students who get waitlisted and end up actually getting accepted ?? is it something worth waiting for or is it foolish for me to hang around ??</p>

<p>ps what is undergraduate studies program ?? is it something similar to community college ?? if its feasible, i might consider that. purdue’s my dream school for engineering.</p>

<p>thanks again</p>