Having Doubts About UWMa

<p>Hello College Confidential!</p>

<p>I am in an odd situation, and to some waiting to hear admission decisions from UWMa, my problem may sound like a non-issue.</p>

<p>I was recently accepted to the UW Madison. However, I am wondering if it is the best school for me, especially in terms of post-graduate opportunities. In specific, will Madison make me a competitive pick for selective graduate schools (Law, Med, Bus etc) at top tier schools such as Harvard, Yale and Stanford? </p>

<p>In more general terms, when it comes down to it, can a UW Madison graduate actually compete with the Harvard graduate?</p>

<p>(I was accepted to Madison before I finished filling out any other applications, and because I am an in-state resident, I can come out of the UW with no debt. I do not feel the need to apply to top tier schools if it provides me with a small advantage and a large amount of debt.)</p>

<p>I was facing a very similar situation as you last year. I had to choose between UW, the University of Chicago (ranked higher than many Ivies), and NYU. I made the decision to attend UW-Madison not only because it was much more affordable (I’m from MN), but also because I talked to many of my other friends who were graduating/had graduated and each and every one of them said how much respect their UW degrees were garnishing for them when applying to grad school. It is absolutely possible that one can attend the best graduate schools with a UW degree. If one can maintain an excellent GPA and do well on the GRE, a degree from UW can get you anywhere. </p>

<p>Best of luck with your decision! Make sure you make the best decision for you! Go where you think you will be most successful. For me, that was UW…and I haven’t regretted my decision a bit. :)</p>