Hello! Advice needed for an Ivy. [NY resident, 90.65/1560, pre-med]

Hello!

I am an upcoming high school student from a fairly competitive school in NYC. With a GPA of 90.65 and an SAT score of 1560, I also volunteer at my hospital, where I help run booths, interact with patients, and help nurses/clerks. I also volunteer as a tutor for peers at a prep center. For sports, I don’t play any myself, but I managed for my school’s girls’ table tennis and boys’ volleyball.

Disregarding the essays for now, would you guys say I stand a chance at an Ivy (maybe)?

The Ivy acceptance rates are very very low. Most reject 90% or so of applicants. You can’t get accepted if you don’t apply. So, sure try.

But at the same time, you need a well rounded list of schools on your application list that have varying degrees of competitiveness for admissions.

And I’ll ask the obvious question…why the Ivies?

8 Likes

Well, my parents would like it, and the prestige of the names of the schools themselves will probably help when I am applying for my first job (or so my parents insist). Also, a lot of them are in NY so that’s a plus.

Are you a rising senior? You stated that you are an upcoming HS student which initially made me think you were entering 9th grade, but then I saw you took the SAT.

You could certainly apply to Ivy League schools, but make sure you also apply to schools where acceptances are more likely.

2 Likes

OH yes I meant to put high school senior :face_holding_back_tears:, and these are only reach schools; I have more likely colleges in my list as well, but I was just wondering if the time and effort (as well as money) put into Ivy applications could possibly pay off.

What future job?

There are plenty of colleges in NY that are not as competitive for admissions. If you would like some options, perhaps you should do a chance me thread and ask for them.

1 Like