Help finding a college for a nerdy, quirky student

I’m a sophomore in high school who is looking at colleges. I want to study computer science. I’d prefer a school with a student-to-faculty ratio less than 20:1. In terms of the campus atmosphere, I want a school that is like me: nerdy and quirky. One more thing to note is that I want a school that isn’t too political. I don’t want to be at a school that leans heavily either way. Feel free to post your suggestions. Thanks!

Couple that come to mind are College of Wooster in OH and Clark Univ in MA. But without stats and more info in what you are looking for, it’s hard to give suggestions. Some things to think about:
Size
Rural vs urban
Your stats

1 Like

Size: Less than 25,000 (A little over is fine)
Cost: Sticker price less than $45k
Rural vs Urban: Doesn’t matter
Stats: 3.9 Weighted GPA, SAT estimated to be around 1400-1450
Campus Size: Medium to Small

Case Western and Denison in Ohio

1 Like

UChicago may be a good reach school for you. Quirky - check. The student body is left leaning but the institution itself has a slant for free speech. They have a pretty good CS program too.

Is Nebraska-Lincoln any good? They’re on my list, along with Dakota State, Montana State, Michigan Tech and Missouri University of Science and Technology.

Are you eligible for financial aid?

1 Like

Due to the popularity of CS these days, CS classes at many colleges are likely to be larger than 20, even at colleges where many classes are smaller than that.

Your state of residency matters for cost and financial aid at public universities.

Clarkson served my nephew well. His classmates were as nerdy and quirky as he is. He has done exceptionally well since graduation. Best of luck!

4 Likes