Help Me

Hello!

I am a freshman at GWU and I’m having an extremely hard time adjusting because of being homesick, alone, etc. I am currently taking intro Bio, general chemistry, stress management, and psych. I am failing chemistry, and I have a D in psych (I can definitely bring this up to an A because of how the class is structured). I got injured here at college so I’m on crutches, I have been studying a lot, but not so much effectively which is what I realize. In chemistry there is no way that I can bring my grade up to an A, and I’d be pushing for C+. I would literally have to get a 100% on everything else. GW has a freshman forgiveness policy, so should I purposely fail the class to take it next semester (chemistry). It’s too late to drop it, and it’s going to be detrimental to my GPA. The freshman forgiveness policy allows you to take a class over if you receive a D, and then it let’s you replace it.

How will this affect my financial aid if I fail chemistry? I have a presidential scholarship, federal aid, and loans.

I am on a pre med track which is why I am worried about the C. I did excellent in high school, I’m just having trouble here. It’s too late to drop and add classes, and I only have 12 credits so I can’t use a W, or I won’t get financial aid.