HELP! Need to raise SAT score!

I’m a junior in high school in the AICE program and want to aim for competitive schools (my main choice being MIT). I’m on the right path with my ECs(5 clubs including robotics and an internship) and grades (4.0 unweighted 4.58 weighted), but my SAT score is lacking, extremely. I got a 1250 when i took it in June after studying for 3 months and my goal was at least 1480. How do you suggest I raise the score before I take it again in March? I studied using KhanAcademy when i took it in June.

If you can afford it, I would hire a private tutor. Raising your SAT score from 1250 to one that is competitive for MIT will require focused effort. Even then, it may not be possible. A tutor can identify areas of weakness and develop a targeted study plan.

Previously, did you take any practice tests under timed conditions before taking the actual exam? Was your actual score close to your practice scores?

3 Likes

The most effective way to raise your SAT score is to take free practice tests from College Board, TIMED, and then review every single question, wrong or right, and understand how they got to that answer. Wash, rinse repeat.

It’s important to know that getting your SAT into the range is not your ticket in. MIT gets MANY applicants with perfect applications, far too many to accept.

Be your natural self, do what interests you, and have safe backups. MIT is very unlikely for every applicant, no matter their record.

Good luck.

6 Likes

The first thing that occurs to me is that SAT preparation can be very helpful. A tutor can be very helpful in SAT preparation if you can afford to hire one. If you have already spent 3 months studying for the SAT, then a tutor might be your best chance to improve your score.