Help! What business school to choose?

My son has been accepted to several business schools for Finance and a few are still pending. We live in NJ. Cost is not a factor. He’s having a difficult time choosing. Any thoughts?

Accepted
U of South Florida
U of South Carolina
Rollins
Penn St
Embry Riddle

Waiting
U of Miami
U of Florida
Florida State University

PSU is not direct admit. I think you must have a 3.5 gpa at the end of sophomore year.

https://ugstudents.smeal.psu.edu/academics-advising/get-into-a-smeal-major/entrance-to-major-requirements-for-students-entering-penn-state-starting-su-20-fa-20-and-sp-21

I would put direct admit at the top of my list unless your son is flexible with major. It is a well regarded program.

All are fine choices. USC has a good finance program. I did my MBA there many years ago.

S21 is at FSU and loves it. Happy kids there.

1 Like

They’re all great. Well, I’m perplexed at ERAU. Is the wanting to study aviation finance?

I’d punt that one first of find out why.

Next you have Rollins - fine school - but small school. When you have it against USF, U of SC, Penn State - makes no sense. Does he want small and intimate or large and spirit?

If he wants large - USF is growing quick but it’s still more regional. U of SC is making a huge push and if he wants international business, it’s #1. They also have a top rated Honors College.

Penn State is just a super cool school and Smeal is great. U of SC is urban. USF is suburban. Penn State is - just and in the middle of nowhere. So all three have a dichotomy.

UF has a lot of online classes first year - allegedly. FSU is a great school, great campus. A U of Miami is a great medium sized private - again, different than the rest of the list.

So you have to know what you want - because everything is so different - and there won’t be a bad choice in the mix although I am perplexed by ERAU.

2 Likes