Help with 529 and AOTC questions

Newbie here although I have been reading threads in this community throughout the end of my child’s college search and it was very helpful. I wish I had found this place sooner honestly.
Child is a freshman and I am navigating my way through how to effectively use our 529 account and also get the AOTC which I just learned about.

1st question/issue: The way her bill comes from college, it does not distinguish how her scholarships get applied. So as a general example her total semester bill is let’s say $40k in charges (tuition, fees required like resource and activity, improvement fund, housing, and dining). Then $30k in scholarships. My child took a loan so that takes off $2750. I then need to pay $7250. I had the 529 account pay that to her school. Is that going to be an issuer with taxes? How do I know if any part did not apply to a qualified expense when the bill just breaks down charges on one side and credits on the other?

Also, in regards to the 529, I paid that entire balance from her 529. They covered her first semester books. I was told by the college to pay for the books and then they would reimburse me. It was not explained how that would happen but I paid out of pocket and then was told they would refund my child on her bill. Since the bill was paid in full she had to wait for a refund check. Now I read that any refunds after 529 payments are applied can be an issue? But I can show I paid for those books out of pocket so maybe it is ok?