Help with Architecture Interest

First, thanks to all for any and all help. My D24 has always leaned into the STEM fields, but she has been the artist and designer in the family. This past week while visiting our son in college, she started talking about architecture programs (which is great because she is finally showing interest in something). Wife and I know nothing about architecture or architecture programs. Wife is a pediatrician. I am a lawyer. We learned about engineering schools for son. So…now it is architectural programs. I have done some initial research and seen that there are B.A.'s, B.S.'s, B.Arch.'s, and M.Arch.'s. It is my understanding that the Bachelors you obtain plays into the length of your M.Arch. Are there some joint B.Arch./M.Arch. programs (K-State)? What do I need to know? Where do I learn what schools focus on specific types of architecture (Oregon on environmental, LSU on coastal, etc.)?

We are on a budget (aren’t most of us?). So, the potential for a fifth year is problematic. We would like to keep the total cost of attendance (less scholarships) that we pay around $200K. Our in-state is Tennessee (normally, none of us would ever, in their right mind, consider UT-K…but it has a good architecture program which has us reconsidering that).

D24 is the outdoorsy, adrenaline junky in the family (rescue-certified diver and rock climber). She is also gay (but then, so is son and he is at Alabama with all gay friends). She is an all IB student with high grades and will do well on her standardized tests (none taken yet).

Most importantly, what questions and concerns should I be asking or considering that I am not asking or considering?

Thanks.

2 Likes