Help with CSS Profile

Newbie here. My oldest is applying to colleges right now. I’m in the midst of trying to fill out the CSS Profile. I’ve got a bunch of things going on that make things a bit more difficult.

First off my husband (Student’s father) passed away this year. So we are filling out forms with the 2022 taxes that show his income. And I’ve been told I will need to appeal the financial aid packages and use the death as a special circumstance. The CSS Profile seems to figure that out on its own because after putting combined income from 2022 taxes, they only ask me about my share of that income afterwards.

But I am worried because I received some life insurance and there are 2 spots I could put this - either under investments (I did invest it), and/or under untaxable income. I’m worried if I put it both places they will double count it. What do you think?

Under untaxable income I also need to include all of the survivor benefits from social security. It says to include all household members except college students. But since my oldest is still in high school I assume I need to include her parts. But I am not sure why I need to put down what her younger sibling gets? Surely he cant be expected to use his benefits for his sister’s tuition?