help with some basic stuff

<p>Hi, I'm an international student from Spain called Alex. I'll enroll UWMadison in Fall 2008 as a freshmen. I am gonna go for Physics, and all this stuff about housing or choosing classes is new for me, so I would really appreciate if someone could answer some of my questions.
First of all, if I'm going to go for physics - that is, I would attend a lot of math-science based classes - which residence hall is the best based on the closeness of math-science buildings?
I took 5 AP tests this year: CalcBC, Physics CMech, PhysC E&M, German and Bio, and I think I got all 5s. How do I know, once I get my AP scores, which classes to choose, and if UW would allow me to choose them?
I know I'm supposed to take Placement tests in English and Math. When do I need to take those, and what are they like? Is it like the SAT? What do they use this tests for?</p>

<p>Most students do placement tests and sign up for courses at SOAR. Are you attending SOAR?</p>

<p>Either dorm grouping would work as the math and physics buildings are mid way between the Lakeshore and Southeast dorms. The closest would be Elizabeth Waters and Chadbourne only a few hundred yards away.</p>

<p>thanks :):):):):):)</p>