Honors Program

<p>So I go into the Honors Program...but I don't fully understand it. Are all my classes honors or just some of them? Is like everything I do isolated and only with the honors kids? Is orientation only with the honors kids? Ideally I'd like it to be that I'm a regular student that just has some small honors courses but not all of them.....is it like this?</p>

<p>please respond asap if you know anything because i have to decide...ahhhhhh</p>

<p>Yes, that is the way it is. Many intor level classes have honors sections. After that you take the same classes but do some extra work. Also have to do a thesis or similar project.</p>

<p>Whoops-typo--"intro" level</p>

<p>I got into honors as well... is it worth it? Would you recommend it to an aspiring physician or is it just a lot of hype?</p>

<p>As an employer I am very impressed if someone graduates with honors. So are most med schools I think.</p>

<p>so you take some honors classes or all honors classes? does this affect social life at all? i would be living in regular housing not the special honors housing?</p>

<p>Requirement to earn the honors degree can be found on <a href="http://www.honors.ls.wisc.edu/SiteContent.aspx?id=43%5B/url%5D"&gt;http://www.honors.ls.wisc.edu/SiteContent.aspx?id=43&lt;/a> More on SOAR.</p>

<p>In a nutshell, the UW honors programs are somehow unique compared to the others. Specifically, the honors programs are open to any student (who is committed to take on the challenge) and honors students are not segregated - you live, dine and party with everybody else.</p>

<p>BTW, congrats to all who are invited to join the Honors program. That means you are among the top 10-15% of your incoming freshmen class. Of course, you need to continue working hard to keep that edge for the next 4 years.</p>