Hotel recommendation?

My son will be visiting U Alabama later this month. His return flight out of Birmingham is very early in the morning so he would like to get a hotel there the night before. Does anyone have a hotel recommendation? A free airport shuttle would be ideal, but it doesn’t seem to be common. Some of the hotels closest to the airport get horrible ratings/comments from past guests. He doesn’t need anything fancy, but he doesn’t want a 1 star either. Any help will be appreciated.

I have no experiences with these hotels, they were mentioned on the FB page when someone asked for the same recommendations. Might give you somewhere to start.

Hampton Inn, Tutweiler, Downtown
Westin, Downtown

Lots of hotels mentioned, but like most posts, people start deviating from the original post. These 2 were mentioned the most w/ shuttle service. Saved it myself for future reference.

^^Thank you so much.

Def check the Facebook parent pages. That question was asked recently. I believe both pages have search functions.

^^Thanks, but my son isn’t a student there so I don’t have access to their parent page.

If you want a free shuttle to BHM airport, stay in a hotel in BHM.

It’s free to join, and you can leave whenever you like. Look for The University of Alabama Parent Group and/or The University of Alabama Parents. I found suggestions from late December: Sheraton and Holiday Inn next to the airport are good. Sheraton(might now be a Westin) at the Birmingham-Jefferson Civic Center, SpringHill Suites downtown (has a shuttle). Courtyard downtown, Aloft Hotel in Homewood,

^^Thank you, southlander. I appreciate the hotel recommendations, and I’ll check them out.

I assumed the parent groups were closed groups for UA parents only, so I didn’t even try to join.