Housing Food

<p>At the University Housing dining locations, what can I figure on for an average meal price, including drink, etc.? </p>

<p>Also, how expensive are the other grocery-type items (snacks, etc.) that are sold at the Housing dining locations? How much do people in the dorms tend to have to shop at other places (Fresh Market, etc.)?</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>[Housing</a> Food Service](<a href=“http://www.housing.wisc.edu/dining/]Housing”>Dining – University Housing – UW–Madison)</p>

<p>If you live in the UW dorms, you pay the posted price. The cash price is an additional 60% for people who don’t live in the dorms.</p>

<p>I believe on average students spend $1,200 on dorm food.</p>

<p>Since you are paying a fee to subsidize the dining hall (included in your housing fee), your cheapest place to buy food is through the housing dining halls.</p>

<p>I’m an incoming freshman and I stocked up on a whole bunch of food from an area grocery store (Woodman’s - they’ve got a few around southern Wisconsin, and two in Madison). Stuff like oats, macaroni and cheese, ramen, granola bars, cereal, etc., is easy to keep in your dorm and cost much less than the dining halls - and it’s more convenient! You’ll have to buy perishables such as milk and produce at FMM, but if you buy a lot of non-perishables before you arrive, you can make a pretty good dent in the food budget.</p>