Housing options-costs/quality/experiences?

Hey everyone I am new to cc!

I visited Alabama back in November and from my trip I am happy to say I am committed :slight_smile:

I was wondering if I could get people’s insights on the types of housing they picked for themselves or their children when going to Bama? Mainly I would like focus on the costs and quality differences between the suites and non-suites. I know that the suites are liked as “hotel getaways” while the regular dorms are your traditional “inexpensive” experience. If anyone could share their experiences and comment if their housing choice was worth the costs and/or savings compared to other housing, that would be great :smiley: (FYI I am a chemE major in the honors college, male, non-rushing, registered back in October 1st for housing, and Presidential Scholarship recipient. I can afford any housing option but saving with a cheaper housing option can be a plus for something else down the road. I currently have narrowed it down between Ridgecrest South and Burke. Any insight or ideas will be appreciated. Thanks!) ROLL TIDE ROLL!!!

My first question would be what do you want to get out of college other than a degree? If you enjoy privacy and having your own bathroom, then definitely ridgecrest south. However Burke is one of my favorite dorms on campus. I enjoy that it is home to many international students, saves money, and has a dining hall inside. Next year Burke West will be just females, so you’d be in Burke East. Also Burke is closer to the quad which is nice. If I went back and did freshman year again, I’d stay in Burke. Traditional dorms are more social in the sense you know everyone. It’s nice having your own room but something that holds freshman back from going out and making friends. Once again, it really just depends on what you want to do freshman year and who you are. Feel free to message me if you have questions! I’m a sophomore at Alabama but I’m currently co-oping(: