Housing Recommendations & Greek Life

<p>I am more than likely attending TCU, but I have a few questions and would love input from former or current students. </p>

<p>I have basically narrowed down my housing preference to Moncrief, Foster, and Sherley. Can I have some input on these dorms? I understand moncrief is the athlete dorm, and I'm okay with this. I'm a very social person and am looking to have a good time, meet fun people, but I'm still very concerned with academics. </p>

<p>Also, I'm very interested in going Greek, but my parents are suggesting I wait until my sophomore year to rush. Would this be uncommon and/or unwise to do?</p>

<p>I am a current sophomore male TCU and I am glad that you are heavily considering attending this coming fall! </p>

<p>Housing-I can say with 100% confidence all of the residence halls at TCU are nicer than most hotels. And, each kind of has their own stereotypical personality. Moncrief is, like you mentioned, the athlete dorm. But, due to NCAA and TCU guidelines, a good portion of the dorm is non-atheletes. It is moderate-high in terms of noise level. Facilities are nice and recently redone, and the suite style rooms with shared bathrooms are nice if you can snag one. People here tend to be friendly and nice, but less noisy compared to Sherley.
Foster is a little lower on the noise scale. It tends to draw a more diverse crowd with no one type/group of people dominating. The lobby is cozy and Foster generally hosts some of the better residence halls programs on campus. The bathrooms are either suite style or public but shared by fewer people than in other halls. This hall and Clark generally have the strongest communities (rightly nicknamed "Foster Family) and residents tend to be closer to each other.