How an Asian Male got into Ivy League with a 1370 SAT [Admission Hindsight]

Hey guys,

I graduated from an ivy league a couple of years ago and currently work in investment banking in NYC. I thought I’d share my story as admissions season starts to ramp up.

I had many problems with motivation and focus when I was younger. School never interested me, and come senior year; I had neither the GPA nor the SAT to consider applying to an elite college. I was a middle-class Asian-American Male with a 3.6 UW GPA and a 1370/1600 SAT. I had taken several AP Courses but didn’t do that well on the exams, my highest being a 4 in AP Bio. On paper, I was an extremely average applicant. My High School counselors and teachers all recommended I focus on applying to mid-tier California schools (UC Irvine/UC Davis/Cal Poly SLO). There is nothing wrong with those schools, but I knew I wanted to achieve much more. I was highly creative through the application process and got accepted to two lower-tier ivies (Dartmouth/Cornell/Brown) and some excellent California Schools (UCLA/Pomona).

After getting in, I joined my college’s ambassador program, which helped me develop close relationships with some admissions officers. Several even remembered my application because of how unique and specific it was. The key takeaway is that creating a unique application can compensate for poor scores. Colleges want to fill their classes with diversity in interests and backgrounds. You can tailor your application to check that box. I helped a few family members and friends apply the same strategy to their applications. The most impressive was getting my sister (29 ACT/3.8 GPA) into Cornell.

Good luck this year!