How difficult is it to maintain a high GPA after transferring to a T20

I’m currently a sophomore at a state university looking to transfer to a ~T20 university next year. I’m wondering how difficult it would be to maintain a relatively similar high GPA (3.9+) to that attained in my years at the state university. This is a critical factor in the decision process as I am looking to apply to law school upon graduation. I am pursuing a BA in political science. Thanks

Why don’t you just get your bachelors where you are…

3 Likes

It’s impossible for us to answer. On the one hand, top privates tend to be generous with As. On the other hand, the general level is excellent so the quantity of reading is going to be much greater and the paper quality you need to produce to get an A will have to be topnotch. So, if your main reason for transferring is academically/intellectually challenging yourself you’ll find that.

A more important criterion would be cost: would the top private universities where you’d transfer be affordable without loans ?

Why are you transferring? Why not stay where you are?

2 Likes

Likely depends on the school, professors, etc.

Obviously, you’ll have a social transition and more - which can impact - everything from your comfort to finding study groups, etc.

If you’re going to law school, why would you transfer? Your school won’t matter - and if you’ve had any advising- well you’d have to start again.

I’d say there’s risk - but it’s hard to answer because every school and prof are different.

2 Likes

Of course you can do equally well at another college but nobody can know for sure. There is a risk, especially if you are taking a course of study where knowledge is cumulative.

Why do you want to transfer if you are settled in and doing very well in your current school?