How do you email a professor asking to help with their research?

Hi! I am a rising high school junior interested in cancer cell research and immunology.

I am currently planning on doing a computer science internship with a medicine aspect in spring 2021. However, I am also looking to conduct research more focused on cancer next summer.

I am planning to apply to a few summer research programs however I have heard that I could also try emailing professors at local colleges/universities asking to help them with their research. I have never done this before therefore I was wondering if anyone has any advice on how to email professors? How many professors should I email? When should I start sending emails? What to include in an email? How long should I wait for a response?

Thank you so much in advance!

1. first do your research. Read the webpages of professors at nearby colleges so you can develop a list of researchers who are working in your area of interest. Don’t shotgun; try to develop a targeted list of people working in an area that you’re interested in.

2. talk to your teachers and your computer science mentor to see who is willing to be a reference for you.

3. write up your CV, list relevant coursework (with grades if they’re good), computer skills, data analysis skills, specific laboratory skills or animal care skills (if relevant to the lab you’re applying to) you’ve mastered. Be specific. (“Have written 4 statistical analysis scripts in R for datasets > 1000 samples” “Have complete a DNA sequencing project in AP Bio using the ABC technique.” “Have 5 years experience caring for pet rabbits.” ) Include a statement of your interests and goals. Include the names & contact info for your recommenders. (If you’re not sure to how to write up a CV, google for examples.) The more specific you can be about your skills and experiences, the stronger your CV will be.