How does one compare nursing programs and how if at all does ranking matter?

<p>I'm new to this and wonder when people say, "XX has a good nursing program," what does that mean? More clinical opportunities, more advanced training, better placement? </p>

<p>What are the implications of going to a higher rated school? </p>

<ul>
<li>Do schools that are better regarded have placement at more prestigious hospitals, for example?<br></li>
<li>Do people from higher-rated schools end up with higher compensation? [I'd guess not, but this is a world I don't know].</li>
<li> Are people who are at better regarded BSN programs more likely to be admitted to graduate programs?</li>
<li> Are the nurses educated at higher-ranked schools better nurses because of their education (or at least because they are happier people)?</li>
</ul>

<p>Med schools basically look at GPAs and test scores. Where one got one's undergraduate GPA seems to matter very little in med school admissions. Is that the case with advanced nursing programs or do the grad programs pay attention to things other than GPAs (and if so what and how).</p>