how hard is it to make straight As ?

<p>I just got my acceptance letter this week! :D</p>

<p>Anyway, how hard is it to make straight As?
I know this sounds stupid but I heard that it is really hard to get good grades in wisconsin compared to other schools....like only top 10 ~15% in class makes As or something..
Is this true? I heard this from current students.. They told me its really hard to study and get good grades in wisconsin..Should I take this into consideration for college selection?
Help me pleas e</p>

<p>It depends on your mental caliber. Some people are able to get A’s without trying, simply because they have good retention of information. Others have to study for hours to get that A.</p>

<p>I was an A Average student in high school in all AP Classes, and my GPA at Madison is in the 3.0-3.1 range. I wouldn’t say that the work here is “harder” than what you get in high school, but there’s a LOT more of it and you need the self discipline to actually do it.
For example, CHEM 103 (you’ll probably take it as a freshman) required extensive self discipline to sit down and do practice problems for long periods of time, and to read extremely long weekly readings. You could get by without doing these things, but if you wanted the A you NEED the motivation to do it.
I’ve heard that if you figure out how many credit hours you’re taking and study that many hours per week you’ll be successful, but as far as I know nobody studies that much and a lot of people I know have gotten by with all or almost all A’s.</p>

<p>If you coast or slack, I don’t advise coming here. In my experience, it’s just a LOT of work that’s not necessarily “extremely hard”, but it’s hard enough to be tedious.</p>

<p><a href=“http://registrar.wisc.edu/documents/Stats_distribs_2009-2010Fall.pdf[/url]”>http://registrar.wisc.edu/documents/Stats_distribs_2009-2010Fall.pdf&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;