How is The University of Alabama and the city of Tuscaloosa?

Hello,
I am interested in the U of Alabama but have a few concerns. I am an out of state student from the northeast and jewish and feel there might be a big culture shock. Also the town of Tuscaloosa (Dangerous?, Poverty?, etc) how is it as a college town? Will this school be a culture shock as well?

Ask here:

http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/university-alabama/

thank you!

Poverty? Lol…no.

visit Bama’s Hillel website for info for Jewish students.

mom2collegekids, thank you so much!

I’m also from the Northeast and people up here were telling me I will be called names if I got there. Considering 60% is oos I’m not to worried.

If you can avoid comparing every little thing to how it is back in the Northeast (e.g., “This is terrible; in New York we…”), and tone down the Northeast attitude a bit, it will help a LOT.

<<<
also from the Northeast and people up here were telling me I will be called names if I got there. Considering 60% is oos I’m not to worried.

[QUOTE=""]

[/QUOTE]

Called names? Uh no.

@moooop makes a good point no matter where you go. It’s always rude to say things like, “back home, we do (blah blah blah)…”

@jl9961 I know of some Jews from Mississippi who chose to go to Alabama because they felt it would be a friendlier environment.

You will not find what I call the “mean” anti-Semitism in the South that exists in the North, particularly if you are a Reformed Jew. It’s just not there. Most upper-class and/or educated Southerners actually have an affinity for Jewish people, as demonstrated in the works of such writers as Willie Morris or William Styron. I’m not saying discrimination doesn’t exist, but we all are discriminated against on one level or the other.