How much do EC's go into UC admission?

<p>my counselor tells me that the top 4 things that UCs consider are GPA, SAT/ACT, AP tests and a-g courses. where do extra-curriculars factor into this ?</p>

<p>The 4 things that UCs really consider are GPA, SAT/ACT, AP/honors, and a-g courses. Like almost all public schools in the country, ECs barely factor in at all (except at Berkeley and LA).</p>

<p>what are q-g courses???
sorry im new to the country…</p>

<p>^
They’re the guidelines for high school education at all University of Californias and California State Universities. You need to complete all of them before you apply.</p>

<p>You can find them on a UC website. The ones I remember are:</p>

<p>4 years of english
Math up through Algebra 2
2 years of Science
2 years of foreign language
1 year of academic elective
1 year of art
2 years of history</p>

<p>Etc.</p>

<p>@amarkov: how do UCB and UCLA differ in their consideration of EC’s then?</p>

<p>UCLA and UCB are both competitive places to get in. They’ll pick the most outstanding applicants from the pool. And since there are so many high achieving/scoring students who apply to these two colleges, ECs have to factor in.</p>

<p>I’m not sure about the differences, but both are pretty erratic and unpredictable.</p>

<p>^^^^^^
That.</p>

<p>It’s very unclear how much precisely Berkeley and LA consider ECs. All that people really know for sure is that they both do much more than other UCs.</p>

<p>The other schools outside of Cal and UCLA produce a single numeric score for each applicant, using their own formulas and factors so that each campus selects uniquely, but at the other schools, everyone above the cutoff is admitted and everyone below the cutoff is rejected or waitlisted, sort of mechanically. </p>