How much of your tuition was covered with grants/scholarships?

<p>Hello all Hampshire College students...
I'm over here on pins and needles for about a week... I had an email from Hampshire College inquiring about some specifics to see if I can get financial aid, so <em>fingers crossed</em> <em>knock on wood</em> I got in? HOWEVER... I would be a transfer student and I don't have any money- well very little- I have a EFC on the FAFSA of "0" so I get the full Pell Grant of $5500.00. I am a nontraditional student and would be living off campus. I was wonderring A. If there is anyone else similar to my position at Hampshire and B. How much did you get in scholarships and grants? I used the calculator they have... even though it is out of date, and it said that all I would have to pay is .3% of the tuition... that would be so awesome if that were true. Also, how much was the deposit? Are we looking at 2k or $200? I have maybe at most $400 to spend on a deposit without getting student loans. </p>

<p>Just a lot of financial questions... meh.</p>

<p>Freshman deposit is nonrefundable $400, so I’m guessing transfer deposit would be the same.</p>

<p>We’re not in you situation, but I’ll share our experience anyway. S applied as a freshman and got accepted EA. He loves Hampshire and was awarded their “most prestigious merit scholarship”. He also got a small amount of presumably need-based aid, but unfortunately, so far, this would still be the most expensive college for him to attend. </p>

<p>I hope things are able to work out for you to go to Hampshire. 2013-14 tuition and fees alone are expected to be over $46,000, so it sounds like you will need an extremely generous award. I didn’t think Hampshire was in a position to give out huge sums of FA, but if their NPC says that you’d only be expected to pay .3% of tuition, you never know. </p>