How realistic is it to take on an MA in a field you've never studied before?

I got admitted into MAPH at UChicago, but I’m having second thoughts for the following reasons:

1. I’m hoping to do literature but I have zero experience in the field, haven’t even done A-levels. I do linguistics in undergrad which is on the margins of the proper humanities.
  2. MAPH is one-year, and for someone with next to zero background in the humanities, I can’t imagine how I’m supposed to jump into graduate level humanities work and catch up.
  3. I’m a slow reader (like 20 pages an hour) and English is my second language. I have only a couple months to prepare myself but can’t think of anything practical to do other than take an AP course in literature which in no way makes up for undergrad.

That said, MAPH is different than a typical masters program in two ways:

1. They were advertised as interdisciplinary. Their website used to say “some students completed their bachelor degrees in a field outside of the humanities and would like to learn more about humanistic study.” But curiously this sentence has been taken down from their website just this year, so maybe they realized that going fresh into the humanities at graduate level is NOT realistic for some of their students?
  2. Their thesis requirement is 25-30 pages, half of that of a two-year program.

So my question is, is it realistic or doable at all to study an MA in a field of humanities without undergrad foundation? Is it going to be hell of a struggle?

1 Like

Full disclosure: I don’t know very much about the MA Program in the Humanities at UChcago.

I do know a decent about Masters & PhD programs, and about their relative usefulness. And, I did do a Masters in a field that I had never studied before.

Based on that my first question is: why do you want to do any Masters, and why do you want to do this Masters? The ‘why’ is essential. Come back with that & we can go from there.