How should I rank my dorm community preferences?

I’m most likely attending Binghamton next fall and I’m having trouble deciding how I will rank my dorm preferences. The only dorm community I have seen is CIW. I know I want a suite with a common room… Unless you guys suggest something better. So I’ve got some questions:

Which building is the nicest? Which is the newest or prettiest? Which communities offer suites? Which communities are the most social? Which community has the nicest suites? Which have AC? Which do you consider to be the best community overall, and why? Also, if you could list off positives and negatives or compare the communities, that’d be awesome.

Sorry for the 20 questions. Thanks :slight_smile:

I’m a current freshman, so I was in your shoes last year.

Here’s the facts:

The newest, and nicest, communities are the ones that have been completely renovated - Newing, Dickinson, and Mountainview. Dickinson is the newest, so it is by far the nicest. That being said, CIW and Hinman aren’t bad. By and large, BU dorms are pretty alright compared to a lot of other colleges.

Every community except Newing offers suites. In CIW, buildings are a mix of suite and corridor style. In Mountainview it is mostly suites, but there are some triples. Hinman and Dickinson are basically all suites.

Honestly, how social your community is depends largely on your building and floor. Where I live right now in Newing, there isn’t a lot of social stuff, but a friend who also lives in Newing in a different building has stuff going on in her building all the time. You’re going to meet most of your friends through classes and clubs/teams/Greek life/activities, so while it’s nice to be somewhere very social, it probably won’t impact you much if you aren’t.