How to balance extracurriculars and sports while getting straight A+’s

I am an incoming sophomore. When I go back to school I want to be a straight A+ student, be a part of Quiz Bowl, Newspaper, Yearbook, Student Council, Key Club, DECA, Speech and Debate, Track and Field and the fall play. I am willing to drop some stuff but I won’t drop Newspaper and Yearbook because they are part of my intended major(journalism). I also won’t drop Student Council since it takes up so little time. I just want to know how to balance it all.

2 Likes

The answer will be different for each student - every person has different strengths etc.

Take the most rigorous schedule that is manageable for you. Prioritize academics over ECs if necessary. Organize your time wisely.

6 Likes

I totally agree: academics should be your priority.

As for ECs, my view is that you need to enjoy/love what you are doing. Honestly, it does seems like you’re trying to do a lot, and you need to answer to yourself whether you enjoy all these activities or whether you’re just simply going through the motions to pad your resume/ECs.

I am not saying you are, but you need to be the judge of that.

Colleges can see through quantity over quality.

Most of all, you need to enjoy being a teenager. Work hard, but have fun going it. Time is a very precious commodity.

6 Likes

Prioritize by doing what you love most. And remember it’s OK if you can’t do it all. There are only 24 in the day, and you want to sleep for 7 or 8 hours of them, and need time to eat, relax, see friends, etc. Try making a calendar for yourself and map out what your week looks like, including classes and top priority activities. Make sure you don’t overpack it. Prioritize good grades and learning and don’t try to do so much that you sacrifice sleep or burn yourself out. It’s not worth it.

3 Likes

Buy the book linked below. Read it and follow the focused studying and calendar method.