How to Effectively Self-Study AP World History

I am now an upcoming junior. I only learned about APs as a sophomore, and I wasn’t even fully aware of all of the APs I was eligible to take (silly me, I thought I actually had to take the class to take the exam). In addition, I’m far from a history nerd. I don’t exactly despise history, but history is definitely near the top in my list of least favorite subjects. Before I started studying for the APWH exam, I knew nothing about history. I don’t read the news, I don’t read books related to history, I don’t read magazines, and I wasn’t even sure what century the Great Depression took place in (yes, I know, I was oblivious and living in a hermit cave). That said, I’m not an expert on AP exams and you most definitely don’t have to be one either to get a 5.</p>

I did take a class for AP world history, but I never paid attention because I was a major slacker during sophomore year. Basically, I used APWH as my study/doodling period and didn’t even know the difference between Mesopotamia and Egypt until two nights before the SAT. I /probably/ should have paid attention, but I never did so yeah, I never learned anything from that class. Oh well. I didn’t feel like studying too much, and so I crammed for two nights before the AP world history exam and was still scoring low 50’s on practice tests when I went into take the exam.</p>

ANYWAYS
If you think you will have to memorize absolutely everything in your study guide, toss that idea out the window right now. You don’t. Anyone who says you do is completely erroneous. In my world history class, I was not the only one who studied for the exam last minute. The difference between a 1 and a 5 lies in the way one approaches the exam. If you think of the AP world history exam as a memorization test, you may have trouble with the exam. APWH isn’t memorization, it’s an understanding of the nature of ourselves and those around us.</p>

THE BOOKS