How to get admitted into the Freshman Engineering Program?

Hello Guys,

I am currently a high school Sophomore interested in going to Texas A&M for undergrad Engineering. Can anyone give me some tips on how to get admitted. What kind of resume should I pack, what should I aim for on my SAT( the new one), and ACT , and What kind of extracurricular’s do the admission committee like to see.

All information is very much appreciated.

Thank you.

SuperSumedh

Can any one also tell me what my GPA should be around to be ensured a slot in the program?

Thanks!

Be in the top quarter and have a 1300 math and reading SAT, or just a top 10 rank and you’re in automatically, all though not to your major.

^^ This and apply as early as you can. A&M is rolling admission for auto admit applicants…once your major is filled, your chances for that major drop dramatically because your application goes into the holistic review pile. ApplyTexas opens on August 1st – the sooner you apply, the better your chances to get engineering. We were told at a college night that engineering sometimes fills by mid-September, but it seemed more like early November this year, from what we saw on this board. If you submit your app in August and you’re an auto or academic admit, you should be in great shape! Good luck!

Thanks Loganator and Fuffy24,

My graduating class is very small (<130 Kids), so it is extremely difficult to be in the top 10% or even top 25%, can some one out of this range still manage to get accepted?