How to get started on my USC,UCLA, and NYU dramatic writing portfolio

<p>I am currently a sophomore in high school and writing scripts for tv shows and movies is my passion. Now that I am approaching my junior year I know it is about time to start my portfolio for usc,ucla, and nyu's dramatic writing programs. In my portfolios I need must submit examples of dramatic writing creating only by myself (no collaboration). I've been writing scripts in my free time throughout the year but I have a few questions.</p>

<ol>
<li><p>How can I gain experience in dramatic writing ? So that when I apply I can list that I have had prior experience in this field.</p></li>
<li><p>How is someone typically hired as a screenwriter ? (Through connections, applications, etc,)</p></li>
<li><p>How can I better myself as a dramatic writer/screenwriter ?</p></li>
<li><p>How often should I be writing scripts ?</p></li>
<li><p>Are there any other majors I could study along with dramatic writing in college ? (English, psychology,etc.)</p></li>
<li><p>How long does it typically take someone to get hired to write for a tv show ?</p></li>
</ol>

<p>Hi dreamwriter! I’m not a screenwriter, but I am a writer (novellas, short stories, etc.)! </p>

<p>Unfortunately (but at the same time - fortunately), when it comes to something like a career in Hollywood, there are an INFINITE number of paths for you to go down. In terms of how often you should be writing/how to better yourself, it sucks, but all you need to do is WRITE. With something that relies heavily on creative flow, it’s difficult to set a quota (especially when you don’t have a motivator like money or a deadline). Just write as often as you can.