How was your college lifestyle? Such as taking courses?

Good evening, users :slight_smile:

I just want to read the opinions you post.

How many classes were you able to handle during you’re college days? Did you pile up 6 courses in one semester and manage to pass or did you take one course at a time to give yourself some time to learn the material while working.

Thanks,

Attended a UC on the quarter system - Bio major. I took 4 courses plus labs each quarter. I think my last quarter was 12 units (3 courses).

2 Likes

3 Courses can be okay to handle and working 20 hours a week.

6 courses it’s near impossible if there 5 days a week no room for 40 hour to work per a week.

Not sure where you are seeing 6 courses recommended.

2 Likes

@napnemeanix

Could you please explain why you are asking this question?

4 Likes

I’m saying if a person takes 6 classes in one semester they will be burned out easily and won’t have time to work :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I was a full time student. 5 courses/semester but only worked full time in the summer.

Course load is going to be much different for a married adult working 20+ hours/week. And also very individual based on ability, finances, and other responsibilities.

Comparing to others isn’t helpful. You do what you need to do to successfully graduate and help support your family.

5 Likes

It depends on the courses. I was a Classics major and took lots of history, philosophy, etc. You could have a thousand pages of reading every week- per class- plus research papers, translations, etc. due periodically. 6 courses would have been impossible.

But I had a roommate who was in the combined BA/MD program and she took 6 courses for a couple of semesters. Only one had a research paper- the rest were just a midterm and a final. She had exceptional work habits and managed although she didn’t need much sleep.

YMMV. Agree with Thumper- you need to figure out what you can handle to get to graduation!

1 Like