How & when did UW become a "public Ivy?"

<p>Now, I know there are a lot of ardent UW supporters on this forum and I hope you'll answer this question for me. I'm not trying to question this designation or be a smart a__, I really am curious. I graduated from UW in 1983 and while I loved the school then and still do, the experience I had was not what I'd really suppose to be "Ivy." I had what most people think of as the standard state school experience: some huge classes, some small, some great profs, some who didn't care. Blah, blah, blah. No problem with this whatsoever. Got a lot from my time there and would be thrilled for my own kids to attend. I'm just really wondering how such a big institution could be systematically overhauled to the point that such a lofty designation seems appropriate.</p>

<p>When they were a founding member of the AAU. Around 1900.</p>

<p><a href=“http://www.aau.edu/[/url]”>http://www.aau.edu/&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

<p>Based on the original designation of ‘Public Ivy’ by Moll in 1985, UW is not a Public Ivy but is a runner-up:
[Public</a> Ivy League | Ivy League Online Degree and Certificate](<a href=“http://www.ivy-league-online.com/index.php/public-ivy-league/]Public”>http://www.ivy-league-online.com/index.php/public-ivy-league/)</p>

<p>If the criteria were solely the 8 best public universities, UW could possibly be included with a current USNews public school ranking of 7 - though tied with UCSD and GA Tech making it among the top 9, not 8.</p>

<p>Another source, Greenes’ Guides, does designate UW as a Public Ivy:
[Amazon.com:</a> Greenes’ Guide to Educational Planning:The Public Ivies (Greenes’ Guides to Educational Planning): Howard Greene, Mathew W. Greene: Books](<a href=“http://www.amazon.com/Greenes-Guide-Educational-Planning-Public/dp/B000C4SMPY#reader]Amazon.com:”>http://www.amazon.com/Greenes-Guide-Educational-Planning-Public/dp/B000C4SMPY#reader)</p>